Monday, September 25, 2017

No more data problem with new 4G services: MPT

Myanmar Posts and Telecommunications (MPT) will be utilizing the latest 4x4 Multiple Input Multiple Output (MIMO) technology for its 4G/LTE networks in Yangon, Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw.

Toshitake Amamiya. Aung Kyaw Nyunt / The Myanmar TimesToshitake Amamiya. Aung Kyaw Nyunt / The Myanmar Times

U Thein Hote, Deputy Chief Commercial Officer of the MPT-KSGM Joint Operation, told a press conference in Yangon on June 15, that the network is currently being offered in selected areas.

This new technology has twice the data rate of the old 4G/LTE 2x2 MIMO.

He said that cellular devices and towers can pick up twice the amount of data and has the highest data transfer rates.

U Thein Hote said that with the MPT LTE+ network, internet speeds of 75Mbps to 150Mbps can be achieved and it was introduced in May at 47 townships in Nay Pyi Taw, Yangon, and Mandalay.

“The LTE+ network is now offered in 32 townships in Yangon, and also in Mandalay and Nay Pyi Taw, “ said Toshitake Amamiya, CEO of MPT-KSGM Joint Operation.

There are plans down the road to expand the LTE+ network to Bago, Taunggyi, Mawlamyine, Monywa, and Patheingyi in July and to 20 other big cities in August.

All 30 big cities in Regions and States will receive the service in November, said U Thein Hote.

In order to use the LTE+ network, a 4-G ready phone and MPT SIM card is needed. People who are still using the old 3G SIM card can swap them for the 4G card, while maintaining their current phone number at the nearest MPT branded stores in Nay Pyi Taw, Yangon, and Mandalay.

Translation by Kyaw Soe Htet


Network available

Yangon Region

Ahlone, Bahan, Botahtaung, Dagon, Dagon Myothit (North), Dagon Myothit (Seikkan), Dagon Myothit (South), Dawbon Seikkan, Hlaing, Hlaingthaya, Htantabin, Insein, Kamaryut, Kyauktada, Kyeemyindaing, Lanmadaw, Latha, Myaynigone, Mingaladon, Mingalar Taung Nyunt, North Okkalapa, Pabedan, Pazundaung, Sanchaung, Seikkan, Shwe Pyi Thar, South Okkalapa, Tarmwe, Thaketa, Thingangyun, Twante and Yankin


Amarapura, Aung MyayTharzan, Chan Aye Tharzan, Chan Myatharsi, Maha Aung Myay, Patheingyi, Pyigyitagun, and Tada-U.

Nay Pyi Taw

Dekkhinathiri, Lewe, Ottarathiri, Pobbathiri, Pyinmana, Zabuthiri and Zeyathiri.