Thursday, September 21, 2017

Complaints committee to address backlog

The new Public Complaints Committee, formed yesterday in the Amyotha Hluttaw, will first focus on finishing up the work left untouched by its predecessor before handling new complaints, according to the chair.

U San Myint, the National League for Democracy representative for Ayeyarwady constituency 3, will chair the 15-member committee. U Hla Myint, an NLD representative for Mon State who is also known as U Hla Than Myint, was serve as secretary.

“Complaints left by the former committee will be checked and ones which should be taken forward will be addressed,” U San Myint told reporters at the end of yesterday’s session.

Media reports suggest the previous committee received in excess of 10,000 complaints, most of which focused on unfair dealings in the legal system. U San Myint said he expected complaints to concern land rights, human rights violations and other legal issues.

“When complaints are made, we will send them to the relevant ministerial courts and even to the Supreme Court in order to avoid unfairness. We will meet and consult [with complainants]. We will help them,” he said.

Since the start of the current session of the Amyotha Hluttaw on February 3, 15 hluttaw affairs committees and four permanent committees have been formed.

The four permanent committees are the Bill Committee, the Public Accounts Committee, the Hluttaw Rights Committee, and the Government’s Guarantees, Pledges and Undertakings Vetting Committee.

The 15 hluttaw affairs committees work on issues related to international relationships; collaboration within the hluttaw; NGOs and INGOs; health, sports and culture; affairs of nationalities; affairs of farmers; rights of women and children; educational development; local and overseas labour; citizens’ birthrights, democracy affairs and human rights; minerals and environmental conservation; and public complaints.

Translation by Kyawt Darly Lin