Thursday, September 21, 2017

NPT urban project to take off next year

Implementation of the Nay Pyi Taw Urban Project, which is being drafted again under the new government, is expected to kick off in 2018.

U Myo Aung, permanent secretary of Nay Pyi Taw City Development Committee told a press conference on Tuesday, that the project will take off once all the necessary approvals from the various authorities have been received.

“We have been working on the urban project after officially setting up an organizational structure which consists of a steering committee and a working committee. The process of compiling data started in November 2016 and it has progressed to some extent. After that, we will be analysing the data input,” he told The Myanmar Times.

The Nay Pyi Taw Urban Project is being drafted with five main objectives and expected to be completed this year.

The five objectives are to develop an environmentally sustainable city, to develop a livable city which has green features, to develop an educational hub which can provide higher education and access to international education facilities, to develop a commercial hub which can connect with neighbouring countries and which can offer transportation facilities for both passengers and goods to international airport as well as airway services, and finally, to develop a city which can resist the impact of the climate change.

U Myo Aung said, “In line with these objectives, we are still drafting the plan with the guidance of state leaders. We are also planning to hire a consultant to implement the project.”

Nay Pyi Taw which has an area of 278.61 square miles, was set up as Pyinmana district in 2007 with three townships: Pyinmana, Lewe and Tatkon which were formerly part of the Yamethin district.

The three townships were reorganised as Nay Pyi Taw district in 2009 and five new townships – Dekkhinathiri, Ottarathiri, Pobbathiri, Zabuthiri and Zeyathiri were added to the district to form the Nay Pyi Taw Union Territory.
On January 11, 2013, the Nay Pyi Taw Union Territory was divided into two districts, Ottara and Dekkhina.

The Ottara district includes Tatkon, Ottarathiri, Pobbathiri and Zeyathiri townships and Dekkhina district comprises Pyinmana, Lewe, Zabuthiri and Dekkhinathiri townships.

Translation by Zar Zar Soe