Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Mandate set for peace bodies

The President’s Office yesterday released the mandate and composition of the government’s peace bodies in the run-up to the “21st-century Panglong Conference”.

U Tin Myo Win, the government’s chief negotiator, will lead the 16-member preparation committee for the conference. The committee is composed of key government, military and parliamentary figures, with Minister for the State Counsellor’s Office U Kyaw Tint Swe as vice chair and former peace broker U Hla Maung Shwe as its secretary.

The committee will follow directives from State Counsellor Daw Aung San Suu Kyi for policy-level decisions. The committee is divided into two sub-committees – one for meeting with the signatory armed ethnic groups to the nationwide ceasefire agreement (NCA) and the other for meeting with the groups outside of the accord.

U Tin Myo Win will head the sub-committee in charge of negotiations with non-signatory groups. The sub-committee is tasked with ensuring inclusion of the armed ethnic groups in the Panglong Conference. The sub-committee is to hold talks with the non-signatory groups within two weeks, as the government wants to hold the conference by late July.

The sub-committee has to submit requirements, proposals and discussions had with the groups to the preparation committee, which in turn has to implement them in accordance with the policy guidelines of the government and the Tatmadaw.

Lieutenant General Yar Pyae will lead the sub-committee that will meet with signatory armed ethnic groups. It is tasked with reviewing the political dialogue framework and finalising the topics for discussion in the political dialogue stage.

Daw Aung San Suu Kyi is chair of the Union Peace Dialogue Joint Committee – a tripartite political negotiation body composed of government representatives from the executive, defence and legislative branches, armed ethnic groups, and political parties.